Parliament approves 19 new constituencies

Parliament finally approves creation of 19 new municipalities

The newly approved municipalities include Nansana, Kiira , Makindye-Ssabagabo, Kisoro, Mityana , Mubende that start with immediate effect

Other municipalities include Kitgum, Koboko, Lugazi, Kumi , Kamuli and Kapchorwa.

The other seven municipalities, that is to say Ibanda, Njeru, Apac, Abim, Bugiri, Sheema and Kotido will come into effect in 2016

Mps Cecilia Ogwal and Evelyn Anite believe creation of municipalities is necessary for urbanization and improving service delivery

Story by

Ronald Muhinda

21 August 2015