Eastern youth delegates arrive ahead of polls

Youth delegates from the Eastern region are converging today and  tomorrow ahead of  the election of Youth Representative to Parliament for Eastern Region.

The election was called off after a petition filed in the High Court filed by one of the candidates to halt the exercise until his name which was missing on the national voters register had been reinstated.

The Electoral College for electing the Youth Representative in Parliament shall comprise of members of the District Youth Councils within the Eastern Region which is made up of , District Youth Committees (9 members per district) within the region, Chairperson of each Sub county, Division, Municipality or Town Youth Council within the region

Others are the Secretaries for Finance at the Sub County, Division, Municipality and Town Youth Council levels, the Secretaries for Women Affairs, one Youth with Disability per District and Two student representatives from each district within the region, one of whom shall be female and nominated by the Uganda National Students’ Association

Those aspiring for the position include Dorothy Okware of the NRM, Idi Ouma of the FDC, and Independents Isma Mafabi, Abubaker Matanda and Patrick Omonya

Commission Deputy Spokesman Paul Bukenya says the college will meet at the YMCA Conference and Training Centre, Jinja urging the delegates to report on time for verification.

March 22 2016