36 districts may miss April salary

The Ministry of Finance has warned that public servants in thirty six districts may miss their April salaries after the districts officials failed to beat the 15th April deadline to submit names on the districts pay roll.
Some of the districts which have not submitted the payrolls to the Accountant General include Mbale, Mbarara, Lira, Jinja, Soroti, Kabale, Ntungamo, Masaka and Luwero.
Also affected are districts in the hard to reach areas like Kalangala, Kapchorwa, Bundibugyo and Adjumani.
The Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance, Keith Muhakanizi, said accounting officers in the affected districts will be held liable for delayed salary payments as a result of non or partial submission of payrolls.
Muhakanizi further directed that Accounting officers must submit the payrolls not later than 25th, April in order to effect payment of district staff.